• Mon. Jul 22nd, 2024

Bank Holidays 2024: Bank holidays 2024: Full list of national and state-wise banking holidays here


Dec 29, 2023
Bank Holidays 2024: Bank holidays 2024: Full list of national and state-wise banking holidays here


Bank Holidays 2024: As December 2023 comes to an end and we look forward to the New Year 2024, it’s important to know about the upcoming bank holidays that might impact our usual banking transactions. Let’s explore the scheduled holidays for the year and discover some helpful tips for smooth banking.
In accordance with the Negotiable Instruments Act of 1881, the central government classifies holidays into three categories: those covered by the Act, real-time gross settlement holidays, and bank account closing holidays.In addition to festivals and national holidays, there will be 24 Saturdays off throughout the year, occurring on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month. If a month has five Saturdays, banks will remain open on the fifth Saturday.
Key national holidays in 2024:

  • October 2 (Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti)
  • August 15 (Independence Day)
  • January 26 (Republic Day)

On these dates, banks across India will be closed. However, specific states may observe additional holidays. For instance, Karnataka celebrates Karnataka Rajyotasava on November 1, leading to bank closures in the state. In Maharashtra, banks will be closed on May 1 for May Day or Maharashtra Day.
It’s important to note that the dates for festivals like Diwali and Ganesh Chaturthi may vary from state to state.
For individuals relying on traditional banking services, it’s also important to check with local bank branches for the specific holiday schedule in their region before planning any visits. Fortunately, the rise of online banking and mobile banking has provided a convenient alternative for conducting transactions.
Here is the full list of bank holidays in 2024:

Day Holiday Observed in the state
1 January Monday New Year All over India
11 January Thursday Missionary Day Mizoram
12 January Friday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
13 January Saturday Second Saturday National
13 January Saturday Lohri Punjab and other states
14 January Sunday Sankranti Several states
15 January Monday Pongal Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh
15 January Monday Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu
16 January Tuesday Tusu Puja West Bengal and Assam
17 January Wednesday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Several States
23 January Tuesday Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Several states
25 January Thursday State Day Himachal Pradesh
26 January Friday Republic Day All over India
27 January Saturday Fourth Saturday National
31 January Wednesday Me-Dam-Me-Phi Assam
10 February Saturday Second Saturday All over India
15 February Thursday Lui-Ngai-Ni Manipur
19 February Monday Shivaji Jayanti Maharashtra
24 February Saturday Fourth Saturday National
8 March Friday Maha Shivratri/ Shivaratri Restricted Holiday
12 March Tuesday Ramadan Start Observance
20 March Wednesday Equinox Observance
23 March Saturday Bhagat Singh Martyrdom Day Several states
25 March Monday Holi National holiday
25 March Monday Dol jatra Restricted Holiday
28 March Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance
29 March Friday Good Friday National holiday
9 April Tuesday Ugadi/Gudi Padwa Karnataka, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, and Maharashtra
10 April Wednesday Eid ul Fitr National holiday
13 April Saturday Second Saturday National
14 April Sunday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Several states
14 April Sunday Vishu Kerala
17 April Wednesday Ram Navami Several states
21 April Sunday Mahavir Jayanti Karnataka, Rajasthan, Delhi, Haryana, Delhi, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab
27 April Saturday Fourth Saturday National
1 May Wednesday May Day/Maharashtra Day All over India/Maharashtra
8 May Wednesday Birthday of Guru Rabindranath Tagore West Bengal
11 May Saturday Second Saturday National
25 May Saturday Fourth Saturday National
8 June Saturday Second Saturday National
9 June Sunday Maharana Pratap Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Rajasthan
10 June Monday Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev ji Punjab
15 June Saturday YMA Day Mizoram
16 June Sunday Eid al-Adha All over India
22 June Saturday Second Saturday National
6 July Saturday MHIP Day Mizoram
13 July Saturday Second Saturday National
17 July Wednesday Muharram National apart from Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Goa, Haryana, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Pondicherry, Punjab, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal
27 July Saturday Fourth Saturday All over India
31 July Wednesday Shaheed Udam Singh Martyrdom Day Haryana and Punjab
10 August Saturday Second Saturday All over India
15 August Thursday Independence Day, Parsi New Year All over India
19 August Monday Rakhi Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Haryana
24 August Saturday Fourth Saturday National
26 August Monday Krishna Janmashtami Several states
7 September Saturday Vinayaka Chaturthi All over India
8 September Sunday Nuakhai Odisha
13 September Friday Ramdev Jayanti/Teja Dashmi Rajasthan
14 September Saturday Onam/Second Saturday Kerala/National
15 September Sunday Thiruvonam Kerala
16 September Monday Eid e Milad All over India
17 September Tuesday Indra Jatra Sikkim
18 September Wednesday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
21 September Saturday Shree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala
23 September Monday Heroes’ Martyrdom Day Haryana
28 September Saturday Fourth Saturday National
2 October Wednesday Gandhi Jayanti All over India
10 October Thursday Maha Saptami Several states
11 October Friday Maha Ashtami All over India
12 October Saturday Second Saturday/Maha Navami/Vijaya Dashami All over India
26 October Saturday Fourth Saturday National
31 October Thursday Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel’s Birthday Gujarat
1 November Friday Kut/Puducherry Liberation Day/Haryana Day/Karnataka Rajyotsava/Kerala Piravi Manipur/Puducherry/Haryana/Karnataka/Kerala
2 November Saturday Vikram Samvat New Year/Ningol Chakouba Several states/Manipur
7 November Thursday Chhat Puja Bihar
9 November Saturday Second Saturday National
15 November Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti Punjab, Chandigarh
18 November Monday Kanaka Dasa Jayanti Karnataka
23 November Saturday Fourth Saturday


14 December Saturday Second Saturday All over India
25 December Wednesday Christmas All over India
28 December Saturday Fourth Saturday National

Online banking
Online banking, also known as virtual banking or e-banking, allows users to perform a variety of financial and non-financial activities through a financial institution’s website. Services include National Electronic Fund Transfer (NEFT), Electronic Clearing System (ECS), Real-Time Gross Settlement (RTGS), and Immediate Payment Service (IMPS).
For hassle-free online transactions, it’s important to ensure that online and mobile banking services are activated, and the mobile number is linked to receive OTPs. This not only facilitates financial transactions but also allows users to perform non-financial transactions without the need to visit a physical bank branch, especially during holidays.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *